Shopping Basket

Broken Music



Author Marjorie Eccles
Rights World English
ISBN 9780749016845
Pages 384
Recommend This:


The year is 1919 and the population of Great Britain is still struggling to its feet after being hit by the atrocities of the First World War. Progress is slow, even in quiet spots like the village of Broughton Underhill, on the edge of the Black Country. Gradually, soldiers return, wounds begin to heal and people try to move on with their lives. But for the Wentworth family, this proves to be impossible as former police sergeant Herbert Reardon returns to the village, determined to finally find out what happened the night that his daughter, Marianne, was found drowned in the lake all those years ago, when the war was just beginning.

However, as Reardon begins to investigate, it becomes clear that secrets still abound and lips are staying sealed. When Edith Huckaby, a maid from Oaklands Park, is found murdered in exactly the same spot, Reardon is convinced that the two cases are linked. As Reardon tries to discover the hidden truth, his suspects and witnesses are painstakingly trying to rebuild their lives, in a world which has been changed and scarred forever.

Broken Music is a masterful portrait of the horrors of the frontline and the anxiety of the home front, as the loves and losses of wartime Britain are woven together and the truth slowly dawns on a local tragedy.

What The Critics Said

'Creating a picture of the effects of war on a village, and family tragedy, this is a marvellous book. Highly recommended.'

Mystery Women

'Multiple viewpoint, flashback and flash forward, exceptionally deftly handled, enhance the pleasures of this intriguing mystery.'

Historical Novels Review

Have Your Say

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Broken Music”

Other Books By This Author