FREE UK P&P Full delivery charges » Shopping Basket
Menu

The Deserter's Daughter

Cover of The Deserter's Daughter

Author: Susanna Bavin

Genre: Women's Reads
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780749021849
Rights: World English
Pub. Date: 24th May 2018

Avg Reader Rating:

See Reader Reviews...

Not yet published
Alert me when available

Price: £8.99

Format: Paperback

Synopsis of book»

Manchester, 1920. Carrie Jenkins reels from the revelation that her beloved father was shot for desertion during the Great War, not tragically killed in heroic action as she had previously been led to believe. Worse, Carrie’s sweetheart jilts her on the eve of their wedding, despite her pregnancy.

Facing some tough choices and needing to provide a home for her baby and invalid mother, Carrie is forced to accept the unsettling advances of Ralph Armstrong. It is a decision she will regret.

The first in a two-book deal from an exciting new voice in historical sagas, perfect for fans of Anna Jacobs, Lyn Andrews and Nadine Dorries

 

What Critics Have Said»

‘This story is fascinating and at the same time heartbreaking. The terrible cruelty meted out to the wives and families of deserters, the awful shame which affected every aspect of their lives. Susanna Bavin has captured this era beautifully - in the struggles of half-sisters Evadne and Carrie to find happiness. There is tragedy, hope and courage here. A wonderful debut.’Maddie Please, author of The Summer of Second Chances

Read all critics' reviews »

‘Saga lovers are sure to enjoy this first book by Susanna Bavin. Her story is a real page-turner and will tug at your heart strings.’Anna Jacobs

‘A gripping, mouth-watering twist-fuelled read from start to finish… A measure of all good books is simply, does the reader want to read on? And the answer here is, without a doubt, yes!’Carol Rivers, author of A Wartime Christmas

‘Susanna's gritty tale of events triggered by the revelation of a family secret swept me into 1920s Manchester and kept me in suspense right to the end’Cathy Woodman, author of Trust Me, I’m a Vet

Close all critics' reviews

What You Say»                                                             Add your review »

Other Books by this author                                  See full list »

  • A Respectable Woman

Alert me when this book is in stock

Free UK Postage and Packaging
Competitions & Giveaways
Newsletter
Ask the Author
Suggestion Box

Something you'd like to see on our website?
Let us know!