FREE UK P&P Full delivery charges » Shopping Basket
Menu

Ordeal By Fire

Cover of Ordeal By FireRead An Extract of Ordeal By Fire

Author: Sarah Hawkswood

Genre: Crime, Mystery & Thriller
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780749020972
Rights: World
Pub. Date: 23rd March 2017

Avg Reader Rating:

See Reader Reviews...

add to basket

Price: £7.99

Format: Paperback

Synopsis of book»

September 1143. Sergeant Catchpoll hopes a fire at a Worcester silversmith’s is just an accident, but when there is a second fire, and a charred corpse is discovered, he has no choice but to call in the undersheriff, Hugh Bradecote, to help find the culprit.

With further fires, a hooded figure stalking the streets, and a possible murder that has gone undiscovered for some months, the duo have to work together to avoid getting more than their fingers burnt in this puzzling investigation. 

Fans of historical crime fiction are sure to enjoy this cunningly wrought mystery, particularly fans of Ellis Peters’ Cadfael books and Ariana Franklin’s Mistress of Death series.

What Critics Have Said»

'Hawkswood's elegant and carefully chosen prose keep you glued to the page. She creates a medieval world of her own Ė and drags the reader deeply into it...a must-read'Crime Review

Read all critics' reviews »

'If you like Ellis Peterís excellent Cadfael books, youíre sure to enjoy this. The research and writing is first class, but what I feel truly gives it an edge is the dynamic between Bradcote and Catchpole, readers will really take to them...Overall, an excellent medieval whodunit.'Steve Earles, Destructive Music

'The authorís detailed research is obvious without ever overwhelming the narrative, and the details of everyday life in medieval Worcester provide fascinating background and the hint of many future outings for the duo. Ordeal by Fire is an ideal choice for fans of Ariana Franklin, Peter Tremayne and S.D. Sykes.'Historical Novels Society

'Ordeal by Fire does not flinch from describing the ugly reality of life in the 12thCentury...thoroughly engaging and beautifully written. I would whole-heartedly recommend it. A page-turner.'Mystery People

'Expect red herrings aplenty, lots of suspects and a lively style ... This is a very readable book that entertains with more than just a good mystery plot, and I eagerly await the next installment. Highly recommended for all the right reasons.'MyShelf.com

Close all critics' reviews

What You Say»                                                             Add your review »

Other Books by this author                                  See full list »

  • Marked to Die
  • Servant of Death
Free UK Postage and Packaging
Competitions & Giveaways
Newsletter
Ask the Author
Suggestion Box

Something you'd like to see on our website?
Let us know!