FREE UK P&P Full delivery charges » Shopping Basket

Vale of Tears

Cover of Vale of TearsRead An Extract of Vale of Tears

Author: Sarah Hawkswood

Genre: Crime, Mystery & Thriller
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780749024048
Rights: World
Pub. Date: 23rd April 2020

Avg Reader Rating:

See Reader Reviews...

add to basket

Price: £8.99

Format: Paperback

Part of the series:
Bradecote & Catchpoll

Other Editions:

Recommend this book

Synopsis of book»

April 1144. A body is found floating in Fladbury mill leat, a man in green who has been stabbed but not robbed. The lord sheriff’s trio discover him to be an Evesham horse dealer, who has a beautiful young wife who ‘strays’. Did the wife or one of her lovers get rid of him? What is the connection with the lord of Harvington, who wed the man’s sister, and how did that lady meet her death? What connection is there with the defrocked monk who worked on some leases for the lord and was hanged for theft, and where is the horse dealers’ horse? The trio have to work seamlessly together to unravel the thread that links seemingly disparate deaths before even more people die, and in the process keep Walkelin from the noose.

What You Say»                                                             Add your review »

My first book finished in 2020 ( well shortly before 2020 actually) I reviewed book #4 for NetGalley and liked it a lot, but as it was a bit violent, this next book was almost perfect. Vale of Tears, Book #5 was all about a complicated mystery which happily was resolved.This Bradecote and Catchpoll mystery brings Walkelin, "sergeant-in-training" right into the very good mystery and puts him in danger.
There were a lot of deaths, solved and mostly solved all of which lead to a lord of the manor of Harvington, whose wife was recently deceased and her brother's body found floating in a mill leat. This of course takes them only to river Avon communities starting in Fladbury and ending at the Sheriff's Castle in Worcester.
Agatha and Leofwine reuniting after many years as friends after being bereaved brings a more hopeful ending to this story. Sarah Hawkswood is a very fine author and I am n on to the next in the series.Kathleen Ingram

Books in this series                                  See full list »

  • Servant of Death
  • Ordeal By Fire
  • Marked to Die
  • Hostage to Fortune

Other Books by this author                                  See full list »

  • Marked to Die
  • Ordeal By Fire
  • Servant of Death
Competitions & Giveaways
Ask the Author
Suggestion Box

Something you'd like to see on our website?
Let us know!