The Railway Detective

(2 customer reviews)

Price: £6.99£8.99

Clear
Format

E-book, E-Book (USA), Hardback, Paperback

Series

Author Edward Marston
Rights World English
ISBN 9780749083526
Pages 320
Publication Date 1st January 2005
Recommend This:

Description

London, 1851. The London to Birmingham mail train is robbed and derailed, injuring the driver and others aboard. With the opening of the Great Exhibition at hand, interest is mounting in the engineering triumphs of the railways, but not everyone feels like celebrating. Planned with military precision, this crime challenges the new Police Force to its limits and leads Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck to discover a tangled web of murder, blackmail and destruction.

 

As the momentum gains pace, Colbeck closes in on the criminal masterminds. But just as the police begin to think the villains are within their grasp, events take an unexpected turn – Madeleine Andrews, the beautiful daughter of the injured train driver, becomes an unwilling pawn in the criminals’ game. In a final race against time, good and evil, new and old, are pitted against each other.  But will the long arm of the law be quick enough?

 

The Railway Detective is an action-packed dip into murky 1850s London. Full of historical detail, unexpected twists and memorable characters, this is a mystery that will surprise you at every turn.

What The Critics Said

'Like the others RAILWAY TO THE GRAVE gives a strong impression of authentic historical setting...Marston manages to not only write a strong police procedural, but to tell us something about society of the 1850s, industrial England in which the story is set. 4 stars'

Mysteries in Paradise

‘There is a criminal mastermind, a doughty policeman in hot pursuit, plot twists aplenty and enough historical detail to evoke the period without bogging us down. Great fun’

Observer Review

‘Great stuff’

Publishing News

‘A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson and Cribb and Thackeray…packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written’

Time Out

‘A detective story with a difference…a cracking cops-and-robbers tale with a dimension of crackling suspense’

Good Book Guide

‘A thoroughly enjoyable Victorian crime novel, a must for aficionados...and for the general reader in search of fresh entertainment’

Historical Novels Review

‘This is writing that can be described as the literary equivalent of the roller coaster. There is never a dull moment as Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck untangles a web of murder, blackmail and destruction...my recommendation is to get a copy as soon as possible'

Friends of the Railway Museum Magazine

Have Your Say

  1. Amanda Rose Hodgkiss

    I purchased this book just on a whim, and have read all the series since. A truly fantastic read from start to finish. Marston is a crime detective within himself, he keeps you wondering what happens next meaning you just have to read the next chapter. Inspector Colbeck and his side kick Leeming seem worlds apart in style but close to each other in their detective work.
    A brilliant read, the whole series so far.

  2. Frank Atkinson

    The first books I received were for my birthday. the set and have acquired all of the ones in the series apart from the Circus train conspiracy”
    Surely the Inspector should have been promoted to chief inspector and the sergeant to inspector”

Add a review

Your email address will not be published.

I accept the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy

Books In This Series

Other Books By This Author

Murder on the Salsette