Shopping Basket
0

A Moment of Silence

(2 customer reviews)

Price: £6.99£7.99

Read An Extract of A Moment of Silence
Format

E-book, E-Book (USA), Hardback, Paperback

Series

Author Anna Dean
Rights UK & Comm ex Canada
ISBN 9780749079949
Pages 288
Publication Date 11th May 2009
Recommend This:

Description

A must-read debut novel combining a Regency setting and murder mystery,

for fans of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen.

Belsfield Hall 1805. An engagement party is taking place for Mr Richard Montague, son of wealthy landowner Sir Edgar Montague, and his fiancée Catherine. During a dance with his beloved, a strange thing happens: a man appears at Richard’s shoulder and appears to communicate something to him without saying a word. Instantly breaking off the engagement he rushes off , never to be seen again.

Her aunt, Miss Dido Kent, a spinster with a penchant for solving mysteries, fears something sinister may have occurred. And before long her fears are confirmed.

Family secrets, long consigned to the darkest recesses of the past, begin to emerge as Dido attempts to unravel the strange happenings. But with the discovery of a body in the shrubbery, Mr Richard Montague’s unexplained absence becomes all the more suspicious.

It’s going to take a lot of logical thinking to untangle the complex threads of this multi-layered mystery, and Miss Dido Kent is just the woman to do it.

 

What The Critics Said

'An entertaining murder mystery set in the early 19th century...This was a light, easy read which should appeal to fans of Jane Austen due to the setting and the elegant, witty writing style – although I’m not a huge Austen fan and I still loved it! A Moment of Silence has all the elements of a classic English country house mystery: clues, red herrings and lots of possible suspects, with almost every one of the guests and family members concealing a secret of some kind [and] Miss Dido Kent is a wonderfully engaging character. This was a great start to the series and I’m looking forward to reading the second, A Gentleman of Fortune.'

She Reads Novels

'Delightful...fascinating...this is a beautifully written, skilfully crafted novel and a very enjoyable read. I shall look forward to reading Miss Kent's next adventure.'

Historical Novels Review

‘If you like house party mysteries and Regency romances you will love this amalgam of two of my own favourite genres. I was impressed…if you are looking for a quality historical crime novel then look no further.’

MyShelf.com

Have Your Say

  1. E.H., Anglesey.

    The introduction to this book sounded intriguing ' and it proved to be so! It was quite interesting in the way it had been written, with the story progressing in the usual way but also through letters which the amateur sleuth was writing to her sister.
    The eventual 'reveal all' moment, after many red herrings and wrong conclusions, was extremely interesting, especially the meaning
    behind the title, which I will not reveal in case it spoils it for other readers!

  2. A.R., Burton-on-Trent.

    Just had to write to say how much I enjoyed 'A Moment Of Silence'. So many twists and turns in the plot made it very hard to work out
    who had committed the crime! You have introduced me to a new author, so thank you very much.

Add a review

Books In This Series

Other Books By This Author