FREE UK P&P Full delivery charges » Shopping Basket
Menu

A Moment of Silence

Cover of A Moment of SilenceRead An Extract of A Moment of Silence

Author: Anna Dean

Genre: Crime, Mystery & Thriller
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780749079949
Rights: UK & Comm ex Canada
Pub. Date: 11th May 2009

Avg Reader Rating:

See Reader Reviews...

add to basket

Price: £7.99

Format: Paperback

Part of the series:
Dido Kent Mysteries

Other Editions:

Recommend this book

Synopsis of book»

A must-read debut novel combining a Regency setting and murder mystery,
for fans of Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen.

Belsfield Hall 1805. An engagement party is taking place for Mr Richard Montague, son of wealthy landowner Sir Edgar Montague, and his fiancée Catherine. During a dance with his beloved, a strange thing happens: a man appears at Richard's shoulder and appears to communicate something to him without saying a word. Instantly breaking off the engagement he rushes off , never to be seen again.

Her aunt, Miss Dido Kent, a spinster with a penchant for solving mysteries, fears something sinister may have occurred. And before long her fears are confirmed.

Family secrets, long consigned to the darkest recesses of the past, begin to emerge as Dido attempts to unravel the strange happenings. But with the discovery of a body in the shrubbery, Mr Richard Montague’s unexplained absence becomes all the more suspicious.

It's going to take a lot of logical thinking to untangle the complex threads of this multi-layered mystery, and Miss Dido Kent is just the woman to do it.

 

What Critics Have Said»

'An entertaining murder mystery set in the early 19th century...This was a light, easy read which should appeal to fans of Jane Austen due to the setting and the elegant, witty writing style – although I’m not a huge Austen fan and I still loved it! A Moment of Silence has all the elements of a classic English country house mystery: clues, red herrings and lots of possible suspects, with almost every one of the guests and family members concealing a secret of some kind [and] Miss Dido Kent is a wonderfully engaging character. This was a great start to the series and I’m looking forward to reading the second, A Gentleman of Fortune.'She Reads Novels

Read all critics' reviews »

'Delightful...fascinating...this is a beautifully written, skilfully crafted novel and a very enjoyable read. I shall look forward to reading Miss Kent's next adventure.'Historical Novels Review

‘If you like house party mysteries and Regency romances you will love this amalgam of two of my own favourite genres. I was impressed…if you are looking for a quality historical crime novel then look no further.’MyShelf.com

Close all critics' reviews

What You Say»                                                             Add your review »

Just had to write to say how much I enjoyed “A Moment Of Silence”. So many twists and turns in the plot made it very hard to work out who had committed the crime! You have introduced me to a new author, so thank you very much.A.R., Burton-on-Trent.

Read all readers reviews »

The introduction to this book sounded intriguing – and it proved to be so! It was quite interesting in the way it had been written, with the story progressing in the usual way but also through letters which the amateur sleuth was writing to her sister. The eventual “reveal all” moment, after many red herrings and wrong conclusions, was extremely interesting, especially the meaning behind the title, which I will not reveal in case it spoils it for other readers!E.H., Anglesey.

Close all reader reviews

Books in this series                                  See full list »

  • A Moment of Silence
  • A Gentleman of Fortune
  • Woman of Consequence, A
  • A Place of Confinement

Other Books by this author                                  See full list »

  • A Gentleman of Fortune
  • A Place of Confinement
  • Woman of Consequence, A

If you liked this you might like »

Hidden Dance, The
Susan Wooldridge

Mystery Writer, The
Jessica Mann

Free UK Postage and Packaging
Competitions & Giveaways
Newsletter
Ask the Author
Suggestion Box

Something you'd like to see on our website?
Let us know!