Shopping Basket


Read An Extract of Birthright



Author David Hingley
Recommend This:


The treacherous times of the Restoration are brought to startling life in an exciting new historical crime series. In 1664, four years after Charles II is restored to the throne, Mercia Blakewood stands to lose everything: her father to the executioner’s axe, her freedom to her treacherous uncle, her son to his resentful grandparents. But when her father leaves her a cryptic message in his last speech, she seizes her chance to fight back.

With would-be lover Nathan Keyte and unlikely new friend Nicholas Wildmoor, Mercia must unravel her father’s mystery to find a great prize long thought lost, striving to recover the King’s stolen birthright in the hope of reclaiming her own. From London’s bulging metropolis to the forests of Manhattan she will contend with murder, intrigue and lust, fighting for her future and her life as the town of New York is born.

What The Critics Said

‘David Hingley’s debut has almost everything. A believable plot set in one of the most turbulent times in British history, a sparky and determined heroine willing to gamble everything to save family and future, and a solid historical base.’

Crime Review

‘Birthright is a vividly rendered historical novel. Set between the shifting political landscape of Restoration England and the rapidly expanding New World, Hingley offers an unflinching exploration of love and betrayal.’

Dr Amanda Foreman, historian and 2016 Man Booker Prize Chair

‘Exciting, evocative, original’

Tom Harper, author of The Book of Secrets

'This fine debut novel... shows us the old ways of England, so rocked by war and death, and the potential and promise of this new continent...The adventure itself is such a good one, full of baddies and goodies and others who could be either but it’s so hard to guess. I can only hope that this is not the last we see of this intriguing young woman.'

For Winter Nights

Have Your Say

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Birthright”

Books In This Series

Other Books By This Author