FREE UK P&P Full delivery charges » Shopping Basket
Menu

Behind-The-Books Blog

Feline Fiction

Monday, June 8th, 2015

I spotted this article, discussing the lack of animals in adult fiction, on BookRiot, today. It’s an interesting time to stumble upon it, as we’re gearing up for the publication of the first in Mandy Morton’s delightful The No. 2 Feline Detective Series, next month.

9780749019051 no2 feline detective agency wb

Following in the tradition of Watership Down, Black Beauty and the author’s favourite, Wind in the Willows, Mandy Morton’s The No. 2 Feline Detective Agency (all puns intended) is a charming and witty story, told from the point of view of animals. Featuring two of our favourite things – cats and mysteries – this book’s a surefire winner!

The BookRiot article reminds us that often, ‘we do want to be swept away, but into the animal’s world, instead of convincing ourselves that the animal belongs in ours’. This is easily done in No. 2 Feline; we’re fully submerged in cat-world, with not a human in sight! PD James describes Morton’s books as ‘original and intriguing… a world without people which cat lovers will enter and enjoy’. Give them a go for yourself!

Kathryn, Publicist


Leave a Comment

  • Currently we are...

  • Admiring

    Our lovely October books, which are all available now!

  • …Reading

    Mad Girl by Bryony Gordon

    Ailsa: I challenged myself to read more non-fiction this year. Bryony writes about her lifelong struggle with OCD, and I'm finding the book really interesting.

  • …Tweeting