Shopping Basket

Authors

See A-Z listing

Links

Find us on »

Railway Detective, The

Cover of Railway Detective, The

Author: Edward Marston

Genre: Crime, Mystery & Thriller
Format: E-book
ISBN: 9780749008864
Rights: World English
Pub. Date: 16th December 2009

Avg Reader Rating:

See Reader Reviews...

Buy from our e-book partnerDownload from Amazon

Price: £6.99 RRP

Format: E-book

Part of the series:
The Railway Detective Series

Cool Extras                                                                             See full list >>

Latest Extra: Link: The Railway Detective series is optioned for TV

Synopsis of book»

London, 1851. The London to Birmingham mail train is robbed and derailed, injuring the driver and others aboard. With the opening of the Great Exhibition at hand, interest is mounting in the engineering triumphs of the railways, but not everyone feels like celebrating. Planned with military precision, this crime challenges the new Police Force to its limits and leads Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck to discover a tangled web of murder, blackmail and destruction.

As the momentum gains pace, Colbeck closes in on the criminal masterminds. But just as the police begin to think the villains are within their grasp, events take an unexpected turn - Madeleine Andrews, the beautiful daughter of the injured train driver, becomes an unwilling pawn in the criminals' game. In a final race against time, good and evil, new and old, are pitted against each other.  But will the long arm of the law be quick enough?

The Railway Detective is an action-packed dip into murky 1850s London. Full of historical detail, unexpected twists and memorable characters, this is a mystery that will surprise you at every turn.

What Critics Have Said»

'Like the others RAILWAY TO THE GRAVE gives a strong impression of authentic historical setting...Marston manages to not only write a strong police procedural, but to tell us something about society of the 1850s, industrial England in which the story is set. 4 stars'Mysteries in Paradise

Read all critics' reviews »

‘There is a criminal mastermind, a doughty policeman in hot pursuit, plot twists aplenty and enough historical detail to evoke the period without bogging us down. Great fun’Observer Review

‘Great stuff’Publishing News

‘A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson and Cribb and Thackeray…packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written’Time Out

‘A detective story with a difference…a cracking cops-and-robbers tale with a dimension of crackling suspense’Good Book Guide

‘A thoroughly enjoyable Victorian crime novel, a must for aficionados...and for the general reader in search of fresh entertainment’Historical Novels Review

‘This is writing that can be described as the literary equivalent of the roller coaster. There is never a dull moment as Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck untangles a web of murder, blackmail and destruction...my recommendation is to get a copy as soon as possible'Friends of the Railway Museum Magazine

Close all critics' reviews

What You Say»                                                             Add your review »

I purchased this book just on a whim, and have read all the series since. A truly fantastic read from start to finish. Marston is a crime detective within himself, he keeps you wondering what happens next meaning you just have to read the next chapter. Inspector Colbeck and his side kick Leeming seem worlds apart in style but close to each other in their detective work. A brilliant read, the whole series so far.Amanda Rose Hodgkiss

Books in this series                                  See full list »

  • Inspector Colbeck's Casebook: Thirteen Tales from the Railway Detective
  • Railway Detective Collection, The
  • Inspector Colbeck's Casebook: Thirteen Tales from the Railway Detective
  • Railway Detective, The

Other Books by this author                                  See full list »

  • Deeds of Darkness
  • Inspector Colbeck's Casebook: Thirteen Tales from the Railway Detective
  • Princess of Denmark, The
  • Ticket to Oblivion, A

If you liked this you might like »

Riddle of the River, The
Catherine Shaw

Free UK Postage and Packaging
Competitions & Giveaways
Newsletter
On the map
Book Club
Ask the Author
Like for Like

Like one book, find another!
Try it out!

Suggestion Box

Something you'd like to see on our website?
Let us know!